top of page

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

CURRENTLY PRE-ORDER

RELEASED November 15

€22

Animal Parents.jpg

Pet Parents

"Life starts from an egg. This is what all animals have in common, from invertebrates to mammals, including birds, fish, amphibians and reptiles. However, each species develops its own parental behaviors and in this area animals show surprising creativity! Cockroaches “nurse” their young, frogs grow their tadpoles in marsupial pouches while birds build nests whose complexity borders on a work of art. As for kangaroos, they are capable of pausing the development of an embryo for several months"

Raymond Nowak recounts all the stages of parenthood: mating, pregnancy, laying eggs or birth. Then come education, care for the little ones and possible separation. Parenting is not always synonymous with affection, but often with sacrifice, because the goal to be achieved is clear: to perpetuate one's descendants. »

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

CURRENTLY PRE-ORDER

RELEASED November 15

€22

Animal Parents.jpg

Pet Parents

"Life starts from an egg. This is what all animals have in common, from invertebrates to mammals, including birds, fish, amphibians and reptiles. However, each species develops its own parental behaviors and in this area animals show surprising creativity! Cockroaches “nurse” their young, frogs grow their tadpoles in marsupial pouches while birds build nests whose complexity borders on a work of art. As for kangaroos, they are capable of pausing the development of an embryo for several months"

Raymond Nowak recounts all the stages of parenthood: mating, pregnancy, laying eggs or birth. Then come education, care for the little ones and possible separation. Parenting is not always synonymous with affection, but often with sacrifice, because the goal to be achieved is clear: to perpetuate one's descendants. »

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

AVAILABLE 04/10/23

€18

in the head of a horse.jpg

in the head of a horse

"An emblematic and fascinating animal, the horse maintains an ancestral relationship with humans. To better understand it, Léa Lansade immerses us in equine thoughts. Through the experiments she has carried out, she demonstrates how it transmits its emotions through his facial expressions, describes his great sensitivity, teaches us to test his personality and reveals his surprising cognitive abilities. At a time when animal well-being is at the heart of concerns, knowing his fundamental needs or identifying his signals of fear and joy becomes essential. This is what the author offers in this book, as original as it is fascinating!”

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

CURRENTLY IN BOOKSTORE

€19.90 - 256 pages

9782379313776-v50.jpg

in the skin of a dinosaur

"Every viewer of Jurassic Park knows it: raptors hunt in packs, open doors with their little legs and set deadly traps; tyrannosaurs have no sense of smell but pick up the slightest movement.


Do these capabilities correspond to reality? Thanks to the most recent scientific discoveries, we find ourselves in the shoes of the dinosaurs. How did they see, what did they smell, what did they hear? Were they stupid or smart like monkeys? Did they feel pain? Did they live alone or in groups? For the first time, a paleontologist has brought back to life these creatures that have been extinct for 66 million years.

As a bonus, discover them in augmented reality!”

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

CURRENTLY IN

LIBRARY

€18 - 256 pages

Bee cover.jpg

what do bees think about

And suddenly you are in the head of a bee...

 

Have you ever observed a bee? Closely, attentively, without disturbing her? You may have wondered what was going on in his head. Was she afraid? Did she even notice you? Like us, insects have brains. But, unlike ours, it is tiny. So what can it be used for? Are insects intelligent? Do they have a conscience? A creative sense? Do they feel emotions?

 

Through a thousand discoveries, anecdotes and reflections on bees and insects in general, Mathieu Lihoreau reveals the fascinating cognitive capacities of these miniature creatures. Overturning what we thought about them, this book encourages respect for the infinitely small, which is only as small as its size!

“The work of Mathieu Lihoreau on the intelligence of insects seems inexhaustible”

The express

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

CURRENTLY

IN BOOKSTORE

€18 - 256 pages

All sexes are in nature.jpg

All genders

are in nature

"Sex is a strange affair. Between the hermaphroditism of the earthworm, the homosexual embraces of lions and the transsexuality of sea bream, nature presents a multitude of sexualities. Some embrace without penetration while others sport penises For both, heterosexuality is far from being the rule.

 

But what do the masturbation of macaques or the sexual inconstancy of dolphins tell us? That it is not procreation that guides the animal in taking action but the search for pleasure.

 

In this universe where sexualities become distorted and tangled, Thierry Lodé reveals the true role of sex which is nothing less than the engine of evolution, the one that makes biodiversity possible.

The world of books

“Animal sexuality is a Pandora’s box”

The Wolf (002).jpg

CURRENTLY

IN BOOKSTORE

€18 - 256 pages

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

the wolf,

this unloved one who us looks like

“The image of the cruel and bloodthirsty wolf has nourished our imagination for millennia. Undermining the frightening fable, science gives us a completely different portrait.

 

The wolf is not a solitary raider, it lives in a close-knit family, under the guardianship of a faithful couple, it raises its young in community and practices ecological hunting. He is altruistic, ardently defending the members of his pack.

In this essay, as passionate as it is solidly documented, the ethologist Pierre Jouventin recalls that Man formed an alliance in the Neolithic with the ancestor of the dog, which changed his own destiny.

It’s time to put an end to the myth of the Big Bad Wolf!”

“Pierre Jouventin speaks out against the fate of the predator in France”

Le Figaro

the beast in us

It is there, lurking within us. We silence it, stifle it, execrate it. The “beast in us” brings us back to instinct, the uncontrollable, the immoral. Moving away from it reassures us about our place in the universe.

How did we come to think of our animality in opposition to our humanity? Does this reasoning have scientific reality? Are humans so different from animals? Does he have a special intelligence? Is he alone to laugh, to love, to cry? To have morals, to make war? 

Through the fascinating discoveries made by ethologists, anthropologists and archaeologists, this book deciphers our behaviors in terms of their animal roots. By deconstructing many beliefs, our animality becomes this “formidable and profound alphabet”, which Victor Hugo described so beautifully.

Enough to profoundly change our view of the kingdom of beasts of which we are a part...

“A salutary work written with an alert pen.”

Curious Live

The beast within us Cover.jpg

Press Officer

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

CURRENTLY

IN BOOKSTORE

€18 - 256 pages

bottom of page

top of page

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT EN

LIBRAIRIE

21 €

Dans_la_tete_dun_oiseau.pdf.png

DANS la tête d'un oiseau

"Les dinosaures n'ont pas disparu ! Ils ont donné naissance aux oiseaux qui ont conquis tous les continents. Généraliste ou spécialiste, chaque espèce a développé ses propres techniques pour se nourrir, migrer, séduire et s'accoupler. Ainsi, les flamants roses filtrent l'eau à la manière des baleines, les hirondelles parcourent des centaines de kilomètres par jour et certaines poules se reproduisent sans mâle ! Devant la complexité de leurs relations sociales ou la diversité de leurs chants, Gérard Leboucher l'affirme : les oiseaux font preuve d'intelligences plurielles. Elles leur ont permis de s'adapter à des milieux extrêmes et d'échapper aux prédateurs. Aujourd'hui, le défi de la crise climatique rend indispensable la connaissance de leurs modes de vie afin de les protéger et de cohabiter en harmonie. »

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT  EN LIBRAIRIE

22 €

Parents-animaux.jpg

Parents animaux

"La vie part d’un œuf. C’est le point commun à tous les animaux, des invertébrés aux mammifères, en passant par les oiseaux, les poissons, les amphibiens et les reptiles. Pourtant, chaque espèce développe ses propres comportements parentaux et dans ce domaine les animaux font preuve d’une créativité surprenante ! Des cafards « allaitent » leurs petits, des grenouilles font grandir leurs têtards dans des poches marsupiales tandis que les oiseaux construisent des nids dont la complexité confine à l’œuvre d’art. Quant aux kangourous, ils sont capables de mettre en pause le développement d’un embryon pendant plusieurs moi"

Raymond Nowak raconte toutes les étapes de la parentalité : l’accouplement, la grossesse, la ponte ou la naissance. Puis viennent l’éducation, les soins apportés aux petits et l’éventuelle séparation. Parent n’est pas toujours synonyme d’affection, mais souvent de sacrifice, car le but à atteindre est clair : perpétuer sa descendance. »

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT EN LIBRAIRIE

18 €

dans la tete d un cheval.jpg

dans la tête d'un cheval

"Animal emblématique et fascinant, le cheval entretient avec l'humain une relation ancestrale. Pour mieux le comprendre, Léa Lansade nous plonge dans les pensées équines. À travers les expériences qu'elle a menées, elle démontre comment il transmet ses émotions à travers ses expressions faciales, décrit sa grande sensibilité, nous apprend à tester sa personnalité et dévoile ses capacités cognitives surprenantes. À l'heure où le bien-être animal est au cœur des préoccupations, connaître ses besoins fondamentaux ou identifier ses signaux de peur et de joie devient indispensable. C'est ce qu'offre l'autrice dans ce livre aussi original que passionnant ! "

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT EN LIBRAIRIE

19,90 € - 256 pages

9782379313776-v50.jpg

dans la peau d'un dinosaure

"Tous les spectateurs de Jurassic Park le savent: les raptors chassent en meute, ouvrent des portes avec leurs petites pattes et tendent des pièges mortels; les tyrannosaures, eux, sont dépourvus d'odorat mais captent le moindre mouvement.


Ces capacités collent-elles à la réalité? Grâce aux découvertes scientifiques les plus récentes, nous nous retrouvons dans la peau des dinosaures. Comment voyaient-ils, que sentaient-ils, qu'entendaient-ils? Étaient-ils stupides ou malins comme des singes? Ressentaient-ils la douleur? Vivaient-ils seuls ou en groupes? Pour la première fois, un paléontologue fait renaître ces créatures disparues depuis 66 millions d'années.

En prime, découvrez-les en réalité augmentée!"

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT EN

LIBRAIRIE

18 € - 256 pages

Couv abeilles.jpg

à quoi pensent les abeilles

Et soudain vous voilà dans la tête d’une abeille…

 

Avez-vous déjà observé une abeille ? De près, avec attention, sans la perturber ? Vous vous êtes alors peut-être demandé  ce qu’il se passait dans sa tête. A-t-elle eu peur ? Vous a-t-elle seulement remarqué ? Comme nous, les insectes ont un cerveau. Mais, à la différence du nôtre, il est minuscule. À quoi donc peut-il servir ? Les insectes sont-ils doués d’intelligence ? Ont-ils  une conscience ? Un sens créatif ? Ressentent-ils des émotions ?

 

À travers mille découvertes, anecdotes et réflexions sur les abeilles et les insectes en général, Mathieu Lihoreau révèle les capacités cognitives fascinantes de ces créatures miniatures. Bouleversant ce que nous pensions à leur sujet, ce livre incite au respect de l’infiniment petit, qui n’a de petit que sa taille !

"Les travaux de Mathieu Lihoreau sur l’intelligence des insectes semblent inépuisables"

L'express

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT

EN LIBRAIRIE

18 € - 256 pages

Tous les sexes sont dans la nature.jpg

Tous les sexes

sont dans la nature

"Le sexe est une étrange affaire. Entre l’hermaphrodisme du ver de terre, les étreintes homosexuelles des lions et la transsexualité des dorades, la nature présente une multitude de sexualités. Certains s’enlacent sans pénétration tandis que d’autres arborent des pénis démesurés. Chez les uns comme chez les autres, l’hétérosexualité est loin d’être la règle.

 

Mais que racontent la masturbation des macaques ou l’inconstance sexuelle des dauphins ? Que ce n’est pas la procréation qui guide l’animal dans le passage à l’acte mais la recherche du plaisir.

 

Dans cet univers où les sexualités jouent à se distordre et à s’emmêler, Thierry Lodé dévoile le véritable rôle du sexe qui n’est rien de moins que le moteur de l’évolution, celui qui rend possible la biodiversité."

Le monde des livres

"La sexualité animale est une boîte de Pandore"

Le Loup (002).jpg

ACTUELLEMENT

EN LIBRAIRIE

18 € - 256 pages

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

le loup,

ce mal-aimé qui nous ressemble

"L’image du loup cruel et sanguinaire nourrit notre imaginaire depuis des millénaires. Écornant la fable effrayante, la science nous en livre un tout autre portrait.

 

Le loup n’est pas un pillard solitaire, il vit en famille soudée, sous la tutelle d’un couple fidèle, il élève ses petits en communauté et pratique une chasse écologique. C’est un altruiste, défendant avec ardeur les membres de sa meute.

Dans cet essai aussi passionné que solidement documenté, l’éthologue Pierre Jouventin rappelle que l’Homme noua au Néolithique une alliance avec l’ancêtre du chien, qui changea sa propre destinée.

Il est temps d’en finir avec le mythe du Grand Méchant Loup !"

"Pierre Jouventin s’élève contre le sort fait au prédateur en France"

Le Figaro

la bête en nous

Elle est là, tapie en nous. Nous la taisons, l’étouffons, l’exécrons. La « bête en nous » ramène à l’instinct, l’incontrôlable, l’immoral. S’éloigner d’elle nous rassure sur notre place dans l’univers.

Comment en sommes-nous arrivés à penser notre animalité par opposition à notre humanité ? Ce raisonnement a-t-il une réalité scientifique ? L’Homme est-il si différent des animaux ? A-t-il une intelligence à part ? Est-il seul à rire, à aimer, à pleurer ? À avoir une morale, à faire la guerre ? 

À travers les découvertes fascinantes réalisées par des éthologues, anthropologues et archéologues, ce livre décrypte nos comportements à l’aune de leurs racines animales. En déconstruisant nombre de croyances, notre animalité devient cet « alphabet formidable et profond », que décrivait si joliment Victor Hugo.

De quoi changer en profondeur notre regard sur le royaume des bêtes dont nous faisons partie…

"Un ouvrage salutaire écrit d'une plume alerte."

Curieux Live

La bête en nous Couverture.jpg

Attachée de presse

Lola Schidler

lola.schidler@humensis.com

01 55 42 84 79

ACTUELLEMENT

EN LIBRAIRIE

18 € - 256 pages

bottom of page